• Local Government
  • State Government
  • Federal Government
    [photo, State House (from Rowe Blvd.), Annapolis, Maryland] STATE GOVERNMENT
  • Organizational Chart

    Statehood. In Maryland, State government began when the 9th Provincial Convention adopted the first constitution of Maryland on November 8, 1776.

    Maryland, on April 28, 1788, became the seventh state to ratify the federal Constitution.

    State House (from Rowe Blvd.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 1999. Photo by Diane P. Frese.

    Executive Branch
    The Governor is the chief executive of the State. Elected by the voters to a four-year term, the Governor presides over the Governor's Executive Council. Known as the Cabinet, the Council includes the heads of the eighteen departments which oversee most State government agencies.

    Legislative Branch
    The General Assembly, Maryland's bicameral legislature, consists of the Senate, led by the Senate President, and the House of Delegates, led by the House Speaker. As of January 9, 2002, the 47-member Senate has 34 Democrats and 13 Republicans. As of the same date, the 141-member House of Delegates includes 106 Democrats and 35 Republicans.

    To enact laws, the General Assembly convenes annually on the second Wednesday in January for a 90-day session. In 2003, the General Assembly will convene its 417th session on January 8, 2003.

    Judicial Branch
    The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals. Four court divisions make up the Judicial Branch: the Court of Appeals, the Court of Special Appeals, the Circuit Courts, and the District Court of Maryland. In addition, each county orphans' court has responsibility for probate.

    Within the Executive Branch, the Maryland Tax Court hears appeals on tax issues, and administrative law judges of the Office of Administrative Hearings review contested decisions in State administrative law cases.

    [photo, Carroll County Historic Courthouse, Courthouse Square, Westminster, Maryland] LOCAL GOVERNMENT

    Of the 50 states, Maryland is among those with the fewest number of local governments. Local government is found in Maryland's 23 counties. Moreover, some 157 towns and cities (including Baltimore City) have their own governments. Created by State, county and municipal governments, special taxing districts exist in Montgomery County as well.

    Carroll County Historic Courthouse, Courthouse Square, Westminster, Maryland, January 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


    Maryland is represented in the U.S. Congress, and is part of the federal court system and other federal offices.

    In the U.S. Senate, Maryland is represented by two senators. In the U.S. House of Representatives, eight representatives speak for Maryland.

    Maryland Constitution
    Maryland Elections
    Maryland State Government Budget
    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

    November 5, 2002   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

    Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives