Chosen by State Central Committee in Oct., 4-year terms:
Wayne L. Rogers, Chair, 2002
A. Cathlyn Farrow,* 1st Vice-Chair, 2002
*(elected by State Central Committee in Nov. 2001, to replace Mary Jo Neville, who resigned in Oct. 2001)
Isiah (Ike) Leggett, 2nd Vice-Chair, 2002
Carole Fisher, Secretary, 2002
Kenneth O. Wilson, Treasurer, 2002

National Committee members: Glenard S. Middleton, Sr.; Gregory Pecoraro; Beatrice P. Tignor; Susan Turnbull. Terms expire 2004.

Chairs of local central committees & additional local members

Melanie Miller, Young Democrats of Maryland
Karen Holck, United Democratic Women's Clubs of Maryland

Bruce L. Marcus, Esq., General Counsel

Ann Beegle, Executive Director

188 Main St., Suite 1
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 269-8818, (301) 858-8818
e-mail: democrat@mddems.org
fax: (410) 280-8882
web: www.mddems.org

The governing body of the Maryland Democratic Party is the Democratic State Central Committee. Committee members are elected from their respective county or legislative district or are honorary (nonvoting) members designated by the Committee. Honorary members may include elected Democratic officials such as the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Comptroller of the Treasury, U.S. Senator, or U.S. Representative. Honorary memberships also may be extended to former Democratic governors and representatives of the Young Democrats of Maryland, the United Democratic Women's Clubs of Maryland, Maryland members of the Democratic National Committee, and any others designated by the State Central Committee.

In each gubernatorial primary election, Democratic central committees are elected locally by voters in each county and Baltimore City. Members serve four-year terms. A member of a local Democratic central committee must be a registered Democratic voter and a bona fide resident of the county or legislative district represented. Any qualified person may run for the office by filing a candidacy with the local board of of elections.

Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives