[photo, U.S. Capital (east view from east capital st.), Washington, DC]
  • 2002-2010
  • 1992-2000

    After each federal census, Congress determines the number of representatives for each state based on population (U.S. Constitution, Art. 1, sec. 2). Maryland retained eight seats in the U.S. House of Representatives following the 2000 federal census. Every two years, voters elect one representative from each of Maryland's eight congressional election districts (Code 1957, Art. 33, sec. 22-2).

    U.S. Capitol (east view from east capital st.), Washington, DC, January 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Boundaries of Maryland's congressional election districts are defined by legislation enacted by the General Assembly. These boundaries have changed over time, and they continue to change. Local boards of elections are empowered to redefine precinct boundaries but cannot alter the election districts or wards designated by the Legislature. Consequently, boundaries defined by law for some congressional election districts may have undergone changes at the precinct level between enactments of the General Assembly (Code 1957, Art. 33, sec. 2-12).

    Precinct boundaries are dynamic. Changes are made to reflect population shifts and to ensure convenient polling places for all voters. Local boards of elections can provide current information on precincts encompassed within each district.

    Maryland Government
    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

    November 5, 2002   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

    Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives