From 1892 to 1992, Aberdeen was governed by a board of commissioners. The commissioners annually elected one of their number as president from 1892 to 1905. Thereafter, from 1906 through 1954, the president was chosen every two years, and from 1955 to 1992, every year. In 1992, a city government was instituted providing for a separately elected mayor.


1892-1894 Charles W. Baker
1894-1896 George Walker
1896-1899 John Finney Wells
1899-1900 George H. Irvins
1900-1905 John Finney Wells
1905-1906 James A. Wiles
1906-1908 John Finney Wells
1908-1914 C. H. Johnson

1916-1950 Frank E. Baker
1950-1952 J. Wilmer Cronin
1952-1954 Charles J. Kelly
1954-1955 Clark D. Connellee
1955-1956 J. Wilmer Cronin
1956-1958 R. Lee Mitchell
1958-1959 Robert P. Atkins
1959-1964 George B. Adams, Jr.
1964-1965 Robert H. Krieger
1965-1967 William Cooper, Jr.
1967-1968 Warren Parrish
1968-1969 John A. Feroll
1969-1970 William Cooper, Jr.
1970-1971 Warren Parrish
1971-1972 Alphonse Demarco
1972-1974 George B. Adams, Jr.
1974-1975 William B. Hause
1975-1977 Kent F. Stewart
1977-1978 William B. Hause
1978-1979 Jerry A. Nolan
1979-1980 William Cooper, Jr.
1980-1981 Raymond H. Warfield
1981-1986 Ronald Kupferman
1986-1987 Raymond H. Warfield
1987-1992 George J. Englesson


1992-1994 Ruth E. Elliott
1994-1998 Charles R. (Chuck) Boutin
1998- Douglas S. Wilson

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives