The Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics was formed in 1972 (Chapter 5, Acts of 1972). The Committee renders advisory opinions and promulgates rules of legislative ethics with respect to conflicts of interest governing members of the General Assembly. These rules apply year-round.

The Committee consists of twelve members: six from the Senate, six from the House of Delegates chosen respectively by the Senate President and House Speaker, who also appoint the chairs. At least one member of the Senate and one of the House are chosen from the party of the Minority Leader (Code State Government Article, secs. 2-701 through 2-707).

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives