James H. Gilford, Ph.D., Maryland, Chair (chosen by Commission in Sept., 1-year term)

Maryland members appointed by Governor to 2-year terms: James H. Gilford, Ph.D.; George H. Shoemaker (John Parran Bowling; Minny Pohlmann, alternates). Terms expire 1998.

Ex officio: Parris N. Glendening, Governor (Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., alternate, 1999)

Joseph K. Hoffman, Executive Director

Robert L. Bolle, General Counsel

6110 Executive Blvd., Suite 300
Rockville, MD 20852 - 3903
(301) 984-1908
fax: (301) 984-5841

The Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin is an agency of those jurisdictions comprising the Potomac River drainage basin. Established by federal law in 1940, the Commission operates under the Potomac Valley Conservancy District Compact (Joint Resolution no. 93, July 11, 1940, Chapter 579; amended in 1970; P.L. 91-407; U.S. Code, Title 33, sec. 567b). Maryland ratified the Compact in 1939 (Chapter 320, Acts of 1939; Chapter 29, Acts of 1960).

The Potomac Valley Conservancy District, which consists of all of the area drained by the Potomac River and its tributories, comes under jurisdiction of the Commission. A nonregulatory agency, the Commission recommends ways to stop stream pollution, and conserve and wisely use water and associated land resources in the District through regional and interstate cooperation. The Commission's Cooperative Water Supply Operations Section provides technical and managerial services to coordinate drought-related operations of the major public water supply utilities of Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia in the Washington Metropolitan Area (Water Supply Coordination Agreement of July 22, 1982).

The Commission is composed of representatives of the five signatory jurisdictions: Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Participating in the Commission, the United States government is not a signatory member. Representatives from Maryland include the Governor and two residents of the Potomac River Drainage Basin, who are appointed by the Governor for two-year terms. The Commission is financed by appropriations from each member jurisdiction as well as by grants and contracts (Code Environment Article, secs. 5-303, 5-304).

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives