In the period 1892 to 1914, three commissioners constituted the Town Commission of Walkersville. From among their number, they chose a president. Since the adoption of a new town charter in 1914, the Town Commission has consisted of five commissioners and a burgess, who heads the Commission.


1914-1916 Thomas R. Saylor
1916-1918 John W. Stimmel
1918-1920 Joseph H. Engle
1920-1922 Thomas R. Saylor
1922-1928 Marshall O. Ramsburg
1928-1930 Thomas R. Saylor
1930-1940 W. Nelson Stauffer
1940-1942 Kent C. Nicodemus
1942-1946 Calvin C. Keeney
1946-1948 Elroy F. Grimes
1948-1952 William D. Powell
1952-1972 Gilmore C. Trout
1972-1976 Richard A. Winn
1976-1996 Orley R. Bourland, Jr.
1996-1998 John L. Thompson, Jr.
1998- Ralph W. Whitmore

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives