Within Prince George's County are twenty-seven municipalities: Berwyn Heights, Bladensburg, Bowie, Brentwood, Capitol Heights, Cheverly, College Park, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, District Heights, Eagle Harbor, Edmonston, Fairmount Heights, Forest Heights, Glenarden, Greenbelt, Hyattsville, Landover Hills, Laurel, Morningside, Mount Rainier, New Carrollton, North Brentwood, Riverdale Park, Seat Pleasant, University Park, and Upper Marlboro. The oldest of these is Bladensburg, incorporated in 1854. Thereafter, local governments formed at Laurel (1870), Upper Marlboro (1870), Bowie (1882), Hyattsville (1886), Berwyn Heights (1896), Capital Heights (1910), Mount Rainier (1910), Riverdale Park (1920), Brentwood (1922), Cottage City (1924), Edmondston (1924), North Brentwood (1924), Colmar Manor (1927), Eagle Harbor (1929), Cheverly (1931), Seat Pleasant (1931), Fairmount Heights (1935), District Heights (1936), University Park (1936), Greenbelt (1937), Glenarden (1939), College Park (1945), Forest Heights (1945), Landover Hills (1945), Morningside (1949), and New Carrollton (1953).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives