Montgomery County has nineteen municipalities: Barnesville; Brookeville; Chevy Chase, Town of ; Chevy Chase View; Chevy Chase Village; Chevy Chase, Village of, Section 3; Chevy Chase, Village of, Section 5; Gaithersburg; Garrett Park; Glen Echo; Kensington; Laytonsville; Martin's Additions; North Chevy Chase; Poolesville; Rockville; Somerset; Takoma Park; and Washington Grove. The oldest of these is Brookeville, incorporated in 1808, followed by Rockville (1860), Poolesville (1867), Gaithersburg (1878), Barnesville (1888), Takoma Park (1890), Laytonsville (1892), Kensington (1894), Garrett Park (1898), Glen Echo (1904), Somerset (1906), Chevy Chase Village (1910), Town of Chevy Chase (1918), Washington Grove (1937), Village of Chevy Chase, Sections 3 and 5 (1982), Martin's Additions (1985), Chevy Chase View (1993), and North Chevy Chase (1996).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives