[color photo, Casselman Bridge, Grantsville, Maryland] Garrett County has eight municipalites: Accident, Deer Park, Friendsville, Grantsville, Kitzmiller, Loch Lynn Heights, Mountain Lake Park, and Oakland. The oldest is Oakland, the county seat, incorporated in 1862. Thereafter, municipal government formed at Grantsville (1864), Deer Park (1884), Loch Lynn Heights (1896), Friendsville (1902), Kitzmiller (1906), Accident (1916), and Mountain Lake Park (1931).

Casselman Bridge, Grantsville, Maryland, 1998. Photo by Diane P. Frese.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives