Allegany County has seven municipalities: Barton, Cumberland, Frostburg, Lonaconing, Luke, Midland, and Westernport. Its county seat, Cumberland, is the oldest city, incorporated in 1815. Later, Frostburg formed its own government in 1839, Westernport in 1858, Lonaconing in 1890, Barton in 1900, Midland in 1900, and Luke in 1922.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives