DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT

Richard F. Pecora, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084

Merrylin Zaw-Mon, Deputy Secretary (410) 537-3086
Denise Ferguson-Southard, Esq., Assistant Secretary for Policy Coordination (410) 537-4187
Allan P. Jensen, Director, Administrative & Employee Services Administration (410) 537-3116
Ann Marie DeBiase, Director, Air & Radiation Management Administration (410) 537-3255
Robin Grove, Director, Technical & Regulatory Services Administration (410) 537-3680
Richard W. Collins, Director, Waste Management Administration (410) 537-3304
Robert S. Summers, Ph.D., Director, Water Management Administration (410) 537-3567
M. Rosewin Sweeney, Principal Counsel (410) 537-3053

1800 Washington Blvd.
Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3000
1-800-633-6101 (toll free, Maryland)
e-mail: webmaster@mde.state.md.us
tdd: (410) 631-3009
web: www.mde.state.md.us/


Agencies

Budget

Functions

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin

Reports


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

OFFICE OF SECRETARY

(U00A0101, formerly 39.01.01.01)
FY2003 appropriation: $2,083,109
FY2003 authorized positions: 21.5
Richard F. Pecora, Secretary of the Environment (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent)
(410) 537-3084
e-mail: rpecora@mde.state.md.us

Merrylin Zaw-Mon, Deputy Secretary (410) 537-3086
e-mail: mzaw-mon@mde.state.md.us

Shari Wilson, Director of Policy & Management (410) 537-3083
e-mail: swilson@mde.state.md.us

POLICY COORDINATION

Denise Ferguson-Southard, Esq., Assistant Secretary for Policy Coordination (410) 537-4187
e-mail: dferguson-southard@mde.state.md.us

ADMINISTRATIVE & EMPLOYEE SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0202, formerly 39.01.02.02)
FY2003 appropriation: $7,528,459
FY2003 authorized positions: 57
Allan P. Jensen, Director (410) 537-3116
e-mail: ajensen@mde.state.md.us
fax: (410) 537-3740
web: www.mde.state.md.us/aboutmde/aesa.htm

Robert G. Alexander, Deputy Director (410) 537-4489
e-mail: ralexander@mde.state.md.us

AIR & RADIATION MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0701, formerly 39.01.07)
FY2003 appropriation: $10,846,608
FY2003 authorized positions: 191.5
Ann Marie DeBiase, Director (410) 537-3255
e-mail: adebiase@mde.state.md.us
web: www.mde.state.md.us/arma/Airqulty/airqual.html

Angelo J. Bianca, Deputy Director (410) 537-3260
e-mail: abianca@mde.state.md.us

TECHNICAL & REGULATORY SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

(U00A0501, formerly 39.01.05.01)
FY2003 appropriation: $16,948,190
FY2003 authorized positions: 165
Robin Grove, Director (410) 537-3572
e-mail: rgrove@mde.state.md.us
fax: (410) 537-3683
web: www.mde.state.md.us/aboutmde/tarsa.htm

Richard A. Eskin, Ph.D., Deputy Director (410) 537-3691
e-mail: reskin@mde.state.md.us

Narendra Panday, Technical Coordinator (410) 537-3680
e-mail: npanday@mde.state.md.us

WASTE MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

(U00A06, formerly 39.01.06)
FY2003 appropriation: $25,221,466
FY2003 authorized positions: 227
Richard W. Collins, Director (410) 537-3304
e-mail: rcollins@mde.state.md.us
web: www.mde.state.md.us/was/

Horacio A. Tablada, Deputy Director (410) 537-3304
e-mail: htablada@mde.state.md.us

WATER MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

(U00A04, formerly 39.01.04)
FY2003 appropriation: $30,032,485
FY2003 authorized positions: 332
Robert S. Summers, Ph.D., Director (410) 537-3567
e-mail: rsummers@mde.state.md.us
web: www.mde.state.md.us/aboutmde/wma.htm

Virginia F. Kearney, Deputy Director (410) 537-3512
e-mail: vkearney@mde.state.md.us

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives