Chair: Harriet Tregoning, Special Secretary of Smart Growth
Vice-Chair: Roy W. Kienitz, Secretary of Planning

Representative of Governor's Office: Eugene R. Lynch, Deputy Chief of Staff.

Ex officio: Hagner R. Mister, Secretary of Agriculture; T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management; David S. Iannucci, Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Richard F. Pecora, Secretary of the Environment; Peta N. Richkus, Secretary of General Services; Raymond A. Skinner, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Ellen M. Janes, Assistant Secretary for Neighborhood Revitalization, Dept. of Housing & Community Development; J. Charles Fox, Secretary of Natural Resources; John D. Porcari, Secretary of Transportation; Karen R. Johnson, Secretary of Higher Education; Thomas M. Downs, Executive Director, National Center for Smart Growth Research & Education, University of Maryland, College Park.

Contact: John W. Frece, Communications Director, Office of Smart Growth

c/o State House, Room 208
100 State Circle.
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-5292

The Smart Growth Subcabinet began as the Smart Growth and Neighborhood Conservation Subcabinet established by the Governor in January 1998 (Executive Order 01.01.1998.04). It was reformed by statute effective July 1, 2001 (Chapter 566, Acts of 2001). The Subcabinet helps implement Smart Growth Policy, recommending to the Governor changes in State law, regulations, and procedures needed to support the Policy (Chapter 759, Acts of 1997).

Under the Subcabinet is the Smart Growth and Neighborhood Conservation Coordinating Subcommittee.


Reorganized July 1, 2001, as Smart Growth Cabinet (Chapter 566, Acts of 2001).

Appointed by Smart Growth & Neighborhood Conservation Coordination Subcommittee:
Thomas Deen, Chair
Barry Campbell; James Clarke; Robert Dunphy; William M. Eichbaum; Maryann P. Feldmann; Francis B. (Frank) Francois; Roy W. Kienitz; Pamela Tyler Lindstrom; William Millar; Kenneth Orski; Alan Pisarski; Walter Townshend; Franklin White.

The Transportation Solutions Group was formed in April 1998 by the Smart Growth and Neighborhood Conservation Subcabinet. The Group developed an action plan for the long-term transportation needs of the Montgomery County and Prince George's County region which was submitted to the Governor on July 15, 1999. The Group last met in the summer of 1999.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2002

November 5, 2002   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright November 06, 2002 Maryland State Archives